Home
Meetings & Statements Events & Activities China & UN Highlights News in Photo
中文
  Home > Highlights > 5.12 Wenchuan Earthquake
Quake Victims Mourned at Chinese Mission
New York, 19 May 2008

2008/05/19

Staff of the Permanent Mission of China to the United Nations 
Grieve over Victims of Wenchuan Earthquake

New York, 19 May 2008

At 2:28 p.m. Beijing Time, 19 May 2008 (2:28 a.m. EDT, 19 May), the entire staff of the Permanent Mission of China to the United Nations and their families, and some staff of the United Nations Bureau of Xinhua News Agency, led by Permanent Representative and Ambassador Wang Guangya, observed three minutes of silence to mourn, together with the entire Chinese nation, the victims of the devastating 8.0-magnitude earthquake that jolted southwest China on Monday, May 12, killing 34,073 people and injuring 245,108 (casualties as of Monday noon, 19 May 2008).

Chinese Mission mourning quake victims.

The Chinese national flag at the Permanent Mission of China to the United Nations has been flying at half-mast since 12:00 midnight Beijing Time, 19 May (12:00 noon EDT, 18 May).


Chinese Mission mourning quake victims.

A condolence book was opened at the Permanent Mission of China to the United Nations and has been available for signing since May 19 for representatives of the UN system and permanent missions of member states to the United Nations.

Suggest to a friend
  Print